top of page
Writer's pictureRodrigo Johnson

Magical Marketing

By Rodrigo Johnson



As a student of Digital Marketing, I have to confess that I am still unsure of what path to take from all the options and opportunities I have in front of me. Digital marketing is so broad, it has a lot of different options, so I am trying to be as attentive and open-minded as possible to everything. For example, a few weeks ago, I was lucky enough to meet Blair Roebuck, the VP of Marketing Science at Valtech, who came to give a presentation at my Seminar Class at George Brown.



Blair started her presentation by explaining what Marketing Science is all about and what the three pillars that constitute it are: Analytics and data, business, and technology. Marketing Science is in the middle of these three pillars, and it is the one that connects them. As she describes it, Marketing Science obtains intricate data and reshapes it into business insights; these insights are designated to achieve a measurable ROI with a business and data-first approach.

I don’t know about you, but this really blew my mind. I became attracted to this concept immediately. I like analytics and working with numbers, at least now I do; a few years ago, not so much. But as a person who likes precision and likes to know the whys and hows of things, Marketing Science looks very appealing to me. One of Blair's statements that stayed with me was: “What’s measured, gets improved", this is true for any part of our life or anything important to us; this is the reason why we measure our knowledge at school with grades, or our calories if we want to lose weight, or the number of views in social media if we are content creators, to name a few examples. These numbers mean something to us and help us guide our goals, stay on track and achieve what we desire. Now, if we translate this into Marketing, we get what I now call Magical Marketing; it is magical for me because it transforms a very abstract element as analytics is, into something that I can see myself enjoying and having fun working on.

It sounds simple, but it is hard work that involves a team of experts that will analyze, work, and transform the numbers or data into a better-personalized experience for SEO. Marketing Science is a complex process, but in the end, it ensures great and promising results.




With all that said, now I have to put my feet back on the ground and keep researching how Marketing science work in-depth and the necessary skills I need to pursue it. So far, I can tell the obvious; I need more training in google analytics and a better general understanding of digital marketing to dip my big toe in these waters.



I can say that I am excited because, this summer I will become an intern for one of the companies I have applied. So if I decide to do an internship in something other than Marketing science, I know this will still take me closer to exploring and realizing if Marketing Science is as magical and glamorous as I think. In general, I am excited about the future and the long way I have ahead of me, way longer than I would like to admit, but I have confidence that every step I take, as little as it is, brings me closer to my goals and I know I will enjoy the long walk.





4 views

Comentários


bottom of page